Law Information

Different Types of Theft Charges (And Their Consequences) in Texas

By March 3, 2019 No Comments
theft charges in texas

Did you know that theft is one of the top five most common causes of arrest in Texas?

If you’re in trouble with the law, it’s important to understand the severity of your charges. Keep reading to learn about different theft charges in Texas and the penalties for each crime.

Understanding Misdemeanor Theft in Texas

There are three different types of petty theft in Texas: class C, class B, and class A misdemeanors. Misdemeanor charges include jail time, a fine, or a combination of both.

In order to be convicted of a class C misdemeanor theft, the stolen goods have to be worth less than $50. Since this isn’t a serious offense, no jail time is required. However, you may be subject to pay a fine as large as $500.

In order to be convicted of a class B misdemeanor theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $50 but less than $500. Penalties can involve jail time for up to 180 days, a fine as large as $2,000, or a combination of the two.

In order to be convicted of a class A misdemeanor theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $500 but less than $1,500. Penalties can involve jail time for up to one year, a fine as large as $4,000, or a combination of the two.

Understanding Felony Theft in Texas

There are four different types of felony theft in Texas: state jail, third degree, second degree, and first degree. Felony charges include both jail time and a fine.

In order to be convicted of state jail felony theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $1,500 but less than $20,000. Jail time can range from 180 days to two years and fines can be no larger than $10,000.

In order to be convicted of third-degree felony theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $20,000 but less than $100,000. Jail time can range from 2-10 years and fines can be no larger than $10,000.

In order to be convicted of second-degree felony theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $100,000 but less than $200,000. Jail time can range from 2-20 years and fines can be no larger than $10,000.

In order to be convicted of first-degree felony theft, the stolen goods have to be worth more than $200,000. This is the most severe kind of grand larceny in Texas. Jail time can range from 5-99 years and fines can be no larger than $10,000.

What Can You Do If You Have Theft Charges in Texas?

Theft charges are challenging to fight in court. However, there are a few ways to get theft charges dropped.

If you stole something without knowing, your lawyer can argue for a lack of intent in the crime.

If you stole something to protect yourself or a loved one, your lawyer can argue for duress in the crime.

If you did not steal because you were taking something back that belonged to you, your lawyer can argue for mistake of fact in the crime.

If none of these arguments apply to your case, your lawyer can arrange for a plea bargain to limit your jail time and/or fine. When speaking with your lawyer, it’s important to be honest and present all of the facts so they can do their best to protect your rights.

Do You Need a Lawyer to Fight Texas Theft Law?

Getting out of theft charges in Texas is tricky. The best way to protect yourself is to hire a lawyer who’s experienced in battling theft laws.

Do you need a lawyer in San Antonio? The Law Office of Roland J. Garcia would love to help you. Contact us to learn more about how we can serve you.