If you’re looking at drug possession charges for the first time, you’ve probably got a lot going through your head.
While it can be scary to approach the idea of being charged, your best plan is to keep a level head and understand the different levels of charges. Not all drug charges are the end of the world, so before you start to panic, read the following guide to drug charges in the state of Texas.
Drug Possession Charges in Texas
There are a few factors that determine the severity of charges in a drug possession case. These are the type of drug, the amount of drugs that you were in possession of, and any aggravating circumstances that were present in the context of the situation.
These circumstances could be anything from the location that you were caught in (a school zone, drug free zone) to the idea that you may have been trying to sell the drugs. Additionally, you are looking at a higher severity if you were manufacturing or delivering the drugs.
Manufacturing Controlled Substances
If you were manufacturing drugs there are a few things that you should understand. First, the minimum sentence for the manufacturing or delivery of controlled substances is a jail time of 6 months. This could go up to two years, including a fine of up 10,000 dollars.
At the max, delivering controlled substances could lead to a prison sentence of up to 99 years and a fine of 250,000 dollars.
Possession could lead to a sentence of up to 180 days, including a fine of anywhere up to 2,000 dollars.
On the high end, you could be looking at a sentence of, again, 99 years and a fine of 250,000 dollars. The charges are a little bit different for marijuana, however, so we’ll cover that next.
Marijuana is still very much illegal in the state of Texas. If you are in possession of anything less than two ounces of marijuana, your maximum penalty is 6 months in jail and 2,000 dollars. These charges increase if you are in possession of a substance that has been altered, such as hash or oil.
If you’re in possession of anything from 2 to 4 ounces, it is considered a class A misdemeanor. 4 ounces to 5 pounds is a state felony. That charges are amplified if you are in possession of marijuana with the intent to sell.
If you have been caught selling more than 50 pounds of marijuana, you are looking at a minimum sentence of five years and a maximum of 99 years. There are very few laws in Texas that permit the use of medical marijuana, which is sometimes confused because other states do permit this use.
Find Great Representation
Whether you are an expert on drug possession law in Texas or this is your first time being caught with a controlled substance, you should strive to find the best representation in court.
We have experienced defenders ready to fight for the rights of the accused and would be happy to speak with you about your case. If you’re looking for representation for drug possession charges, contact us and we would be glad to speak with you.